Skip to content

ANGELS IN AMERICA at National Theatre

August 5, 2017

I saw the original National Theatre Tony Krushner’s play ANGELS IN AMERICA in 1993 and I remember it was like peering into a whole new Universe as I sat on the edge. America and AIDS in the 1980’s.

Twenty Five years later this new production at the National Theatre was more like a familiar Universe I had visited after my own life experiences struggling to make sense of life’s cruelties and the inadequacies of those we love.

This epic play in two parts is an important and relevant journey I would recommend investing the time to take at least once in your life if you love theatre. The characters in the play are familiar to me now but watching this stellar cast recreate them was very rewarding.

I am a big fan of Russell Tovey who plays Joe Pitt. Andrew Garfield gives a perfect pitch performance as Prior Walter. Amanda Lawrence is particularly impressive as The Angel. Nathan Lane is a superstar and his character Roy M Cohn has even more relevance today as he was the lawyer of Donald Trump.

From → Theatre

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

