Skip to content

MY COUNTRY; A WORK IN PROGRESS at the Birmingham Rep

May 28, 2017

MY COUNTRY; A WORK IN PROGRESS a National Theatre production on tour at the Birmingham Rep is a clever and interesting devised project using the words of people across the country and Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy. I had high hopes as the set up developed of a coming together of parts of the Nation. However after about twenty minutes I yawned and then I yawned again and I spent the rest of the play literally trying to stay awake. The problem was I had heard it all before. The debate about Brexit was already ringing in my ears after months of posting on social media last year. I loved the design, the construction, the performances but I just could not listen to those words again and again and again. Sorry!

 

From → Theatre

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

