Skip to content

JULIUS CAESAR at the Royal Shakespeare Theatre

May 8, 2017

Friends, Romans and Countrymen, Shakespeare’s JULIUS CAESAR at the Royal Shakespeare Theatre is a wonderful production. Finally I get to see the play not set in a modern war setting but in ancient Rome. It makes such a difference to see such an iconic historical story to be set within a perceived reality at least once rather than a contrived modern war setting. Julius Caesar was Olivier in the black and white movie version of the play that I saw at Warwick Arts for my ‘O’ level GCSE. This version now becomes my reference.

Mike was with me and he thought the play was brilliant because you could understand what was actually going on. The powerful RSC ensemble certainly delivered memorable performances. I was particularly impressed with Martin Hutson who played Cassius. I always thought this play was about Brutus and Mark Anthony but actually I now believe it is a lot more about Cassius. I learned a lot about Cassius from this production and I now see him as the pivotal character around which the story is wound.

Excellent

From → Theatre

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

