Skip to content

CALAMITY JANE at The Alex

March 12, 2015

Jodie Prenger is nothing less than magnificent as CALAMITY JANE. I saw the first night of the national tour at the Alexandra Theatre in Birmingham and I was blown away by her performance. I just can’t imagine anyone else managing to blend comedy with such an incredible singing voice. Her energy is infectious and she literally fills the stage with her charisma.

This stage play was adapted in the 1960s from the highly successful 1953 Warner Brothers film Calamity Jane starring Doris Day. This production has the real feel of an authentic Broadway show. It helps that the Alex in Birmingham feels like a Broadway Theatre. I felt like I was in 1960’s New York watching the first night of a Broadway show.

It was so refreshing to enjoy a musical show that is well structured with smart design and the right mix of comedy and song. There is great chemistry between Jodie Prenger and her leading man Tom Lister, who has a beautiful singing voice. The absolute highlight for me was when Jodie sang one of my favourite songs “Secret Love”, a song I have singing about my own life for years.

http://www.calamityjanetheshow.com/

Calamity Jane

From → Theatre

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

