Skip to content

Nabucco at Birmingham Hippodrome

July 13, 2014

It is hard to believe quite how awful the Welsh National Opera production of Verdi’s NABUCCO at the Birmingham Hippodrome actually was for me. I have seen the opera in Verona staged classically and epically in the Roman Amphitheatre and I quite enjoyed some of it. This was a total car crash. I had no idea what was going on as the staging consisted of scenes such as people in black walking with chairs in various directions across the stage. There was no room in my mind to enjoy the music because of an overload of confusion. I tried to recall the show a week later talking to Ben MacSkimmings who was with me but I had no recollection of the trauma. That was until Ben reminded me of the glitter curtain. Oh dear it all came flooding back.

Nabucco

From → Theatre

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

