Skip to content

STEPHEN WARD THE MUSICAL at the Aldwych

December 22, 2013

Andrew Lloyd Webber’s new show STEPHEN WARD THE MUSICAL at the Aldwych is AWFUL! The show opens with Stephen Ward complaining that he is in in the Horror Chamber of the second rate Madam Tausaud’s Waxworks in Blackpool. I think the idea is we are supposed to jump on the band wagon of clearing his name which inspired Andrew Lloyd Webber to produce this tale. I am a great supporter of promoting causes through entertainment BUT could he not have chosen a more worthy cause. George Osborne, the Chancellor of the Exchequer was sitting in front of me with his wife and perhaps they enjoyed the establishment intrigue. Not me, I am afraid I found this all rather pointless.

However perhaps my lack of enthusiasm for the cause is because I would struggle to call this entertainment under the reputable brand name of an “Andrew Lloyd Webber musical”. This is certainly the worst show I have seen with his name above the title. It is tuneless except for one great song beautifully performed by Joanna Riding. Richard Eyre‘s production looks cheap. It looks like an 80’s regional touring production with a dreadful mixture of old newsreel and background scene projections on a set of revolving curtains. It all seemed very dreary.

This show is currently booking at the Aldwych until the 1st March 2014. I have sent an email to the theatre management suggesting they start looking for their next show.

Image

From → Theatre

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

