Skip to content

LET THE RIGHT ONE IN at the Royal Court

December 22, 2013

There was a flash of lightning, a very loud clap of thunder and a sudden down pour as I ran across Sloan Square to the steps of the Royal Court Theatre last Thursday evening. The same storm that brought the ceiling down at the Apollo Theatre on Shaftesbury Avenue. How atmospheric I thought as I entered the theatre to see the National Theatre of Scotland‘s production of Jack Thorne‘s adaptation of John Ajvide Lindqvists’s vampire tale LET THE RIGHT ONE IN. I loved the movie.

This creepy atmosphere extended into the auditorium with an excellent design on stage that gave me the impression that I was looking through a widow into another world as I sat down. It all felt very site specific and very immersive. I already had the imagery of the excellent movie in my mind and this design created enough of a picture to really suspend my disbelief as only theatre can. Familiar scenes from the movie are cleverly and creatively produced with simple yet very effective stage design, lighting and sound. Quite brilliant.

The two central characters are played by Martin Quinn who brings such authenticity to his young character in his stunning stage debut and the young Rebecca Benson who gives a performance worthy of an award. They are supported by a very strong and able cast. The combination of very clever design and authentic performances make this play very special. I am sure it will tour more widely in the UK and/or transfer to the West End at some point.

Image

From → Theatre

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

