Skip to content

GHOST THE MUSICAL (UK tour)

June 10, 2013

I saw GHOST THE MUSICAL two years ago at the Piccadilly Theatre in the West End. I enjoyed it. I have just seen the same show on the UK tour at the Grand Theatre in Wolverhampton. I am pleased to say that I really enjoyed it. So did the five people I took with me. In fact all of them said it was much better than they expected.

What I particularly like about this show is the absolute artistry and technical wizardry of the team who have taken the 1990 Hollywood blockbuster movie and very successfully transformed it into a theatrical musical. The choreography between the moving set, giant video screens, projections, smoke and the actors creates a seamless flow to the scenes of the story. Very clever stage tricks with awesome lighting and sound gives that extra believable dimension to the ghosts.

The show has some nice songs. Sam is played well by a very cute Stewart Clarke. Although a very good singing voice, I felt Rebecca Trehearn’s Molly lacked depth. David Roberts is chilling as Carl. However Wendy Mae Brown playing the role made famous by Whoopi Goldberg as Oda Mae Brown is just fantastic. She brings the house down with “I’m Outta here”. Overall this show has all of the important elements of the film yet with that added dimension of live theatre. Thanks to an incredible back stage team this show sets a high standard for the transfer of movies to the stage.

Image

From → Theatre

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

