Skip to content

The Rat Pack in Las Vegas

March 7, 2013

Our Fall Theatre Programme commenced last night with a visit to the Alexandra Theatre in Birmingham. I love the Alexandra where my adventure in the theatre began. My very first visit with my brother Kevin and the cub scouts was to the Christmas pantomime “Jack and the Beanstalk” in the 70’s. My first musical was with Phil Knightley “The Rocky Horror Show”. 

I took my first boyfriend Stuart Lennox-Gordon to see “A Chorus Line” in the 80’s. I took my Nans, Mother Margaret Stephens andEgbert Jan Wouters to see several Rogers and Hammerstein musicals at Christmas in the 90’s including “The King and I”, “The Sound of Music” and “South Pacific”. Since returning to live in England Jacqui Walters-HuttonHelen CuleySharon Quigley and I joined the spiritualists Sally Morgan and Colin Fry for a seance.Melanie MacSkimming and I saw “Godspell”.

Michael Johnson and I have seen too many plays, performances and musicals at the Alex to mention in the last five years although we particularly loved sitting in the front row with Jacqui and David Hutton in an almost empty theatre for the Great American Trailer Park musical. I have to mention my treading of the boards at the Alexandra when the “Lady Boys of Bangkok” undressed me on stage.

Last night we enjoyed the show and I got to shake hands with Sammy Davis Junior and sit next to a woman Frank Sinatra called the Bride of Chucky. It was Chucky’s birthday and Marylin Munroe sang Happy Birthday to him. A good night had by all in this 20th year of “The Rat Pack”.

Image

From → Theatre

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

