Skip to content

Dear World

March 6, 2013

“DEAR WORLD” was PERFECTLY WONDERFUL to me.

I have had a crush on Betty Buckley since I saw her in my first ‘X’ rated movie “Carrie” when I ‘snuck’ into the Clifton cinema back in 1979. I loved her Olivia Award winning performance as NormaDesmond at The Adelphi in “Sunset Boulevard”. So, when I heard that this Broadway legend was coming to London to star in the British premier of Jerry Herman’s 50 year old musical “Dear World” I did not hesitate to book.

Betty Buckley was simply sublime. Her acting reminded me of Judi Dench and her singing voice of a younger Julie Andrews. She lights up the stage with that special luminescence that only great stars emit from somewhere very deep inside themselves. 

Herman’s 1969 Broadway flop of Giraudoux’s The Madwoman of Chaillot is a whimsical tale about a Countess who saves Paris from greedy Corporates searching for oil beneath the city. The accomplished choreographer and director Gillian Lynn has staged an incredibly colourful and engaging production for this British premier which is like nothing I have ever seen. It is impossible to place it which is exactly what makes it so charming.

Image

From → Theatre

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

