Skip to content

Calendar Girls

March 6, 2013

Last night we joined the WI of the close-knit village of Cracoe in the Yorkshire dales. I thought it time I saw “the most successful UK touring production”. The Belgrade in Coventry was packed to the rafters with mostly chatty middle-aged women. I wouldn’t say that I was in my comfort zone. I have never heard such a din before curtain up in a theatre before. The play was surprisingly funny and very touching. The camaraderie of the cast generated a lot of love and pulled us into their community on stage. Not difficult to understand why this play resonates with communities all over Britain.

Image

From → Theatre

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

