Skip to content

Blood Brothers

March 6, 2013

I first saw “Blood Brothers” at the Phoenix Theatre in London with Egbert Jan Wouters 20 years ago. I saw it on Broadway with Jacqui Walters-Hutton. I gave my Amsterdam Carre tickets for the show to Edmundo Bracamontes and Olaf Lochmans. I took our Mom Margaret Stephens and Dad Norman Stephens and Jack Tattum and Sam Tattum Dad to see it at the Birmingham Hippodrome 10 years ago. Michael Johnson and I saw it again at the Hippodrome with Nikki Evans recently. It is back at the Birmingham Hippodrome this week.

When I heard that the show was closing at the Phoenix in London after its 25 year run this Saturday 10th November and the original cast of Lyn Paul as Mrs Johnstone, Warwick Evans as Narrator, Mark Hutchinson as Eddie and Sean Johnson as Mikey I had to go and see it one last time. I was not disappointed. Yes, the cast are twenty years older and being twenty years older myself I could connect with that nostalgia. The performances were as fresh as ever yet deeper because that powerful return to youth was being actualized on stage with us. This felt like a First Night not a last week. Astounding.

“Blood Brothers” is a remarkable show which manages to pull off that double act of thrilling “Entertainment” and profound insight in “Education”. It is a show which reflects the true nature of life in England for many people and is as relevant today as it was twenty years ago.

Image

From → Theatre

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

